Dieselpunk + Steampunk Culture

The Emberverse series, or Change World,[1] is a series of post-apocalyptic alternate history novels written by S. M. Stirling. The novels depict the events following a mysterious—yet sudden—worldwide event called "The Change" that occurred at 6:15 pm Pacific Standard Time, on March 17, 1998. The Change altered both the course of history and all physical laws when it caused all the electricity, gunpowder, explosives, internal combustion engines, steam power and most forms of high-energy-density technology on Earth to permanently no longer work. Most of the action in the series takes place in the Willamette Valley of Oregon in the United States. The series primarily focuses on how the characters survive the loss of 600 years of technological progress. The original trilogy, Dies the Fire, concerns the conflicts between a Portland-based neo-feudalist dictatorship and the free communities of the Willamette Valley, primarily the Wiccan Clan Mackenzie and the Bearkillers. The later series, The Change, focuses on the now-adult children of the original trilogy's major characters. The Emberverse is closely related to the preceding Stirling Nantucket series with The Event being the synonymous point of departure

Views: 149

Reply to This

Stay in touch


Allied Powers

Diesel powered dieselpunk podcast
Dieselpunk Industries
Seance Media by Tome Wilson
Vnv Nation

© 2019   Created by Tome Wilson.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service